Living without social media and phone

It’s been almost 9 months away from social media and phone. Living in a hi-tech city like Delhi and being away from social media and phone for such a long time seems like going back to the 20th century.

I’ve been into the treatment for over eight months and I’m not allowed to carry a phone or browse through social media profiles. It’s a privilege I’ve been given to write a blog for Shafa home and I enjoy publishing articles for blog and connecting with fellow bloggers.

I will tell you how I’ve spent my last 8 months. First couple of months were challenging in a way that I lost the freedom to do things whimsically. I had to adjust psychologically and physically to live under extreme rules and regulations. Firstly, I had to get up early in the morning and bathe in cold water. At times I feel tired and exhausted but there is no room for laziness in the treatment, we are not allowed to rest during the day.

There are different sessions conducted throughout the day for various purposes such as anger management, drug awareness, physical activities (Yoga and Meditation), enhancing communication skills and building positive relationships which keeps us occupied throughout the day.

Adapting to a new lifestyle

First few months went by in adapting to the new environment. Everything here was alien to me. It was as if entering into a whole new world, cutoff from the external world and their happenings. As the time went by, my thoughts started to change regarding the treatment and I said to myself that I better make my time count by adding value to it, by learning something new and developing skills.

Consequently, I took the responsibility of kitchen department and I was responsible for cooking food for 70 – 100 people in the house three times a day. I were a little skeptic initially about my own cooking abilities but I learnt quickly and now I feel comfortable while cooking. It’s a skill that will help me later in life as well, I don’t feel dependent on anyone for food anymore.

I had a habit of browsing through the Facebook feed, updating Instagram quite often and addicted to Youtube surfing. Watching videos back to back while laying on my bed. When I entered into the treatment I felt an anxiety being away from internet and cell phone. As I progressed into the treatment I felt more connected with my thoughts and feelings because I had plenty of time to contemplate over my thoughts.

Living with bare minimum

I’ve been living a lifestyle of bare minimum for past 8 months and I realized that I don’t need too many possessions or any sort of mood altering substance to enjoy life. Life is mysteriously joyful and thrilling in its own way as it brings something new every day. Developing skills is more important than chasing wealth. Learning something new gives an inner confidence/strength which doesn’t come from material possessions.

When I cook a meal for 100 people, it gives me a feeling of ecstasy which is incomparable with any other feeling. Moreover, when someone appreciates your work it makes you jump in a delight.

I got to celebrate my birthday with all the residents of Shafa whereas in past I celebrated it with a few friends of mine and that too under the influence of a substance.

Life may seem mundane for someone who is addicted to social media and smart phone, but truly, life is much better without it. I don’t feel any urge to reach into my pocket every once in a while to take out my smart phone to aimlessly browse through social media profiles. I feel free from stress and anxiety. I get to celebrate all the festivals of all religions in sobriety.

I don’t have to think of random one liners anymore to post on Facebook or Twitter to prove my wisdom. Neither do I feel any compulsion to post selfies on social media sites nor do I get any phantom vibrations. I don’t feel bound to this world of technology rather I feel free to live a life of simplicity which we are meant to be.

It’s been a life changing experience for me. The time which I used to spend on social media sucked the productivity out of my life but the time which I devoted to myself in this treatment has helped me change my perspective towards life and the future. I realized the preciousness of life and why it’s important to keep moving on in life no matter how difficult the circumstances may be. It’s been a journey of self-discovery and self-realization.

3 thoughts on “Living without social media and phone

  1. I have a love hate relationship with social media. I love what you have written. It would be a dream of mine to escape the internet! but so scary at the same time. I have deleted facebook so many times but am back there again. I feel bad if I have missed one day and haven’t commented or liked everyone’s post. It is ridiculous! There is so much more to life when we are not absorbed with social media. Life is going on around us

    Like

  2. I have a love hate relationship with social media. I love what you have written. It would be a dream of mine to escape the internet! but so scary at the same time. I have deleted facebook so many times but am back there again. I feel bad if I have missed one day and haven’t commented or liked everyone’s post. It is ridiculous! There is so much more to life when we are not absorbed with social media. Life is going on around us. I think you are blessed to be experiencing that. I love what Eckhart Tolle says about social media. There is a funny video that was posted where he laughs at the stupidity of it but in a very loving way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

