297 Days of Sobriety

“Everyday may not be good but there is something good in everyday.”

Apart from physically getting sober there are other things that are worth celebrating in recovery. In past it was impossible for me to imagine my life without drugs. I constantly struggled to control my substance abuse but now I don’t have to worry about it anymore.

I no more feel any bondage with my addiction which I used to feel in the past, the shackles of addiction have been removed and I feel free again. Now, I feel a deeper connection with my feelings and myself.  The feelings which were earlier masked by the drugs that lead to a feeling of disconnection from the world and people around.

During addiction I had lost the sense of responsibility towards my family, job and my health. I’d not been the best friend, son or brother that I could have been. Addiction recovery has brought new opportunities to rebuild those broken relationships and become someone that could be trusted and relied upon.

It’s soon going to be a year away from drug/alcohol. It may seem like an ordinary thing to an average person but for an addict it’s an achievement worth celebrating.

I feel enthusiastic regarding my recovery and the thought to maintain recovery is getting stronger day by day. It’s a feeling of earning something valuable which cannot be expressed in words.

Had I not taken the treatment for marijuana addiction I would have ruined my life completely. I’ve a healthy lifestyle now, I wake up early in the morning and go for a walk and get to work by 10 am. I eat healthy and hygienically cooked food everyday. Moreover, I don’t feel dependent on any substance anymore. This acquired freedom from drug dependency has transformed my life to a great extent.

I can now live without worrying about how the next dose of drug is going to be arranged. Addiction no more occupies my mind, it’s an earned freedom.

 

6 thoughts on “297 Days of Sobriety

Leave a Reply

